2015 55th Annual Tournament of Champions

Played at Eau Claire Golf & Country Club

Saturday - Sunday, August 29-30

Congratulations go out to Sean Barrett as he becomes the winner of the 55th Annual Chippewa Valley Golf Association Tournament of Champions.  His 2 over par round of 144 (72-72) was just enough to hold off Joel B. Johnson who was runner-up again this year at 4 over par 146. 
It was a great tournament, as the Eau Claire Country
Club proved to be a challenge for all participants.  I want to thank all of you for participating in the championship this year and I also want to thank those of you who participated in the Long Drive Contest , (won by Ross Miller) and the CVGA Inaugural  Hall of Fame Banquet held at Princeton Valley Golf Course Saturday eveining. 
Special thanks to Mark Sperling, who graciously coached up the Lakeville High School players and introduced them to the CVGA.  We were all young golfers once, and it was inspiring to see these youngsters taking on the Eau Claire Country Club in a tournament atmosphere.  Stay tuned as I plan to put together a survey that CVGA players will be able to respond to.  I will bring the results to the fall CVGA Board of Directors meeting as we discuss any changes for next year.   


Congratulations also go out to the 2015 Bill Rolland “Player of the Year” award, Yarri Bryn.  A great player who had a tremendous year winning at Menomonie and New Richmond and who was consistently among the leaders in almost all of the tournaments in which he played.  In a closely contested point race, Brad Johnson was runner up in the points race and was presented the 2015 Art Tangen award.   Brad was somewhat disappointed in his playoff loss at the Lake Hallie Open to Greg Werner, only to win the next week at Lake Wissota.  Next year will begin another battle between  these two bulldogs. 


Winter Well,

Mark “Barney” Barstad

CVGA Open Division Chairman






Sean Barrett 24 pts - 144

146 - 18 pts
Joel B Johnson

147 - 15 pts
Ross Miller

148 - 12 pts
Chris Borgen
Yarri Bryn

149 - 10 pts
Spencer Adam

151 - 8 pts
Keith Piotrowski

152 - 7 pts
Trey Sheenan
Greg Jamieson

153 - 6 pts
Mark Barstad
Dan Zimmerman
Scott Semingson

155 - 5 pts
Tim McCormick
Darrin Skinner

156 - 4 pts
Brad Johnson

157 - 3 pts
Mark Sperling

159 - 2 pts
John Leimbach

160 - 1 pt
John Holdsworth

Dave Walker
John Gleason

Brady Sand

Mark Sipple

Noah Rasinski

Ed Severson

Chase Hoople
Jim Quick
Logan Comte
Randy Garber

John Haselwander

Cory Eakins
Billy Peterson
Adam Gustafson
Matt Fladten

Dave Schlageter

Ben Nichols

Will Nordlund
Brandon Sperling