2020 - 60th Annual Tournament of Champions

Played at Eau Claire Golf & Country Club

Saturday, Sept. 12, 2020

George Smith Wins 60th 2020
CVGA Tournament of Champions!


21 years after George Smith won his first CVGA Tournament of Champions (1999) …he captured his second, by shooting a sizzling 66 at the Eau Claire Country Club.   What a great story! He’s consistency is unmatched in this event… and for that matter, every tournament he plays.  The sweet swinger, who is an expert club fitter for Club Champion in Edina Mn, beat younger, lgeorgesmithonger players by putting well and playing from the fairway…a must at the Eau Claire Country Club.  George shattered the record for the oldest winner as he will turn 62 in a week.  Pay attention young players…this is how it’s done.  A very heartfelt congratulations goes out to George….you’re an inspiration my good friend!

Finishing second was future Minnesota Golden Gopher , Bennett Swavely.  The Hudson phenom shot 68 and captured the Art Tangen CVGA Player of the Year Runner-Up Award, the CVGA Amateur of the Year Award, and the CVGA High School Player of the Year Award. The sky is the limit for this young man…..Congrats Bennett!!

Finishing 3rd was Cole Jahnke who shot 69, 4th goes to Brian Hills who shot 70, and 5th goes to Eau Claire native and CVGA long timer Dave Walker, who shot lights out at this year’s T of C.  Fantastic job Dave!!!

I would to thank Mike Greer and his staff at the Eau Claire Golf and Country Club for having the course in fantastic shape, and for all the cooperation at the this year’s event. Look for the T of C to move up a couple of weeks next year….

Thanks to all participants of this year’s event….and for the entire CVGA Season.  It was memorable in so many ways.   Given the social challenges that we all have faced….the CVGA had a GREAT year.  Primarily because not only do we all love the game of golf, but competing as well.

All the best,

Mark Barstad

CVGA Chairman and Treasurer


(715) 379-3675




2020 Tournament of Champions 


66 George Smith – Champion 24 pts


68 Bennet  Swavely-  - 18 pts


69 Cole Jahnke  - 15 pts


70 Brian Hills -12 pts


 71 Dave Walker - 10 pts


72 Nick Bauer  - 8 pts  ($75 Cash) Thomas Huettl


73 Ryan Isaacson, Yarri Bryn - 7 pts

Alex Rogan, Leif Carlson ($50 PS Credit)


74 Dave McCook, Connor Brown - 6 pts

Tanner Wisemiller, Trey Sheehan


75 Sam Klobucar, Isaac Prefontaine, DJ Severson – 5 pts


76 Tate Fahrenkamm, Eric Anderson, Scott Semingson - 4 pts


77 Dean Babbit, Ron Vashro, Ben Pendleton,  - 3 pts

Matt Fladten, Keith Piotrowski


78 Mitch Simonet, Cory Boerner - 2 pts


79 Jake Roeckin, Dylan Merchant - 1 pt